Unschooling: Embarking on an Adventure!

I’m a planner, a serious planner. The kind of person who has lists for everything and gets excited about stationary! I like research and notes and neatness and am only comfortable when everything is written down…

So why we’ve decided to unschool I haven’t got a clue! The kids are fine with it, over the last few months we’ve become increasingly relaxed and they’re thriving. Steve’s incredibly relaxed about it all, its me thats the problem.

I mean, at the moment they’re playing outside (in shorts and vests, absolutely mad!) using a huge cushion and a very large stuffed duck as boats with golf clubs as oars and screaming and laughing at the top of their lungs. They’re having a whale of a time. They’re off sailing the seven seas, visiting fabulous countries that exist only in their own imagination.

So why does it keep popping into my head “they’ve not done any reading today” and “when was the last time we sat at the table and did some maths?” and since the children have become more relaxed its got worse not better! I’m a worrier by nature, and its making me more worried that I’m worrying about the children learning more and more independently.

I don’t know what it is… maybe its because we followed a curriculum, no matter how loosely we did it, perhaps that’s a difficult thing to break away from? I’m struggling to let go. I realise that I’ve got bogged down with the Charlotte Mason ‘curriculum’ patched together from different ideas but mainly Ambleside. I want to get back to her principles, I’d started to ignore them. Whatever happened to ‘Education is a Life’ and when did I forget what it really meant?

Her wonderful principles can be applied to any style of education, in my opinion… who needs the curriculum? Who needs the mountains of organisation, reams of paper or the stress? Especially when the kids are so happy doing their own thing.

Maybe I don’t feel needed, they’re working things out for themselves, with the absolute minimum amount of input from me. This is great! Very CM. After all “the brain is not an empty bucket to be filled but a living organ that, like the stomach, needs a good and varied diet in order to function properly”.

I have always seen myself as facilitator rather than teacher, don’t get me wrong. I’ve never stood in front of a blackboard, I’ve never lectured (well, not THAT much, LOL), I’ve never offered information that wasn’t asked for. But until recently they’ve always asked me, always. So I think I’m feeling a little left out. As an example, Niamh has developed this habit of just going off on her own, fiddling with something, drawing or playing, not a peep from her, this can go on for hours, a couple of days. She’s mulling something over, this is just her way, then quite out of the blue she’ll start discussing something that she’s seen or learned, something I’ll have completely forgot! She’s spent that ‘down time’ making her own connections with very little if any input from me.

Paddy I’ve noticed, only wants to learn through play at the moment. He’s using his imagination, we even had a fab ‘incident’ this morning about imaginative play. Niamh has a tendancy to be a tad bossy and she was telling him that he shouldn’t be doing voices for his cars “cos that’s stupid, cars don’t talk!” After our very breif conversation (I simply told her that imaginative play is fun and good for you, something I kick myself for, I’ll explain in a mo) she’s gone off, mulled it over and joined in using her cars to chat with his. When I asked her if she was having fun she said she was helping Paddy because imaginative play is good for his development, could I leave them to it please? LOL

She’d come up with this quite independently. This is where I kicked myself. “Never bring education down to the child’s level”. Always aim higher, stimulate and inspire them to go forward rather than keep them at a certain level until you deem them ready to move on, never presume that a child won’t understand what you’re talking about if you use big words. She obviously knows and understands these big words simply by picking up on conversations. And if they don’t know, they will ask, they have the confidence in me and Steve not to make them feel inadequate about what they don’t know.

That’s a great thing, of course it is. Something to be very proud of. So why am I still a worry wart? I actually stood in the kitchen an hour or so ago wringing my hands I felt so nervous!

This shouldn’t be coming as such a shock to the system! In a way, when I think back, we’ve always unschooled to a certain extent. The months where we spend time out on trips, walks and visits, just talking and letting the kids be, but then these were followed by the panic stricken weeks where “we have got to catch up! We’ve got to do this, this and this. Oh and that and that, can’t forget about that!!!!!”

Maybe its because we’ve now put a name to ‘it’. But I’m really really struggling to let go. I don’t know if a period of de-schooling (mainly for me!) would be in order before we ‘started’ un-schooling? I’m sure the two would pretty much flow into the other.

Or maybe this is a feeling of inadequacy? Have I been doing things the wrong way for my children? Does that make me a bad mum? I know it doesn’t, not really, we’ve all got to muddle along the best we can. But I like to be organised, I can’t stand change, I like being sure. What if this is the wrong thing? I see how happy the kids are, it can’t possibly be the wrong thing. Shut up nagging voice!

On the plus side however, I’ve noticed a change this morning. This morning I cleared out and recycled a heck of a lot of plans, notes and worksheets. We won’t be needing them. It was actually a bit like therapy! And then I sat and watched the kids, I sat and listened more intently than usual to Paddy telling me something. I listened to him telling me all the names of his cars and about their character traits, and for the first time I didn’t think that I should be encouraging him to sit with me and read a book. I actually paid more attention to what he was telling me and encouraged what he was doing. Not that I didn’t do this anyway, but today I actually sat back and took great pleasure in it rather than paying attention to that voice in the back of my mind whittling away at me. And, I think this is very very important, I’ve left Niamh completely alone, I haven’t nagged her once, though I do nag in an encouraging way, I realise now that I always went OUT OF MY WAY to inspire her. Wrong, wrong, wrong! She doesn’t need any external stimulation, she’s got more than enough inspiration of her own!

I think this is going to be a long journey for me, I’m having to re-evaluate the way I say and do things.

11 Responses to “Unschooling: Embarking on an Adventure!”

  1. wow ! so so much of what you said sets bells off in my head! even down to the liking of stationary, i cant do without my list either.I have a feeling im really going to go through this with my two, and yes im the problem not them. Id not heard of autonomous learning until a HE friend explained it too me, i have a mind set of how things “should” be done and its only now as we start on our journey that im realising this might not be the “right” way for my children. even in this first week, mikeys said i don’t want to do that today and as id planned, i felt the need to explain that this is what we are going to do rather than actually letting him do what he wanted to, i really feel the “need” to see work, and its something i need to get out of please please if you have any tips on how let me know 🙂 i am also wanting to send them to school at a later date (if they want to go ) so at the back of my mind i have this feeling that they need to understand how structured learning is done so if hey do they aren’t completely out of there depth, am i wrong in that? will they be able to go from one to the other without stress? im glad that someone else understands how hard it is just to let go ive never done it in any part of my life really, but i so want them to love learning and do it there own way without driving me round the twist 😦 maybe we can help each other if we find things and ways to help? xx

  2. Its really hard, isn’t it?!!! That ‘letting go’! We’ve been home edding for about 5 years now, my 2 have never been to school, I’ve found that the key has been to talk to my children, even when we were quite structured I always sought their opinion. What I think I have to learn to do now is try and relinquish the control of those conversations and wait for them to initiate them more. They already do this to a certain extent, like when we saw Mars the other week, it has been nothing but Solar System this, planets that. LOL but they’re so interested in it, and the knowledge of orbits, axis, gravity, etc is unbelievable for a 6 and 4 y/o! I didn’t know any of this stuff! I hadn’t even planned for it!
    I’m like you, I need to see work, but I have come up with a cunning way of doing that, I keep all their paintings and things that they scribble down, I keep the printouts of, for example, some poetry that we’ve looked at, and everything they’ve done relating to it and then I make them into a book for them. We also do lapbooking. Niamh at the mo is interested in world war 1 after a few trips to our local museum, its slowly being built up into a lapbook as and when she wants to do it.
    Something else I’m going to do is invest in a good camera, that way I can capture all those moments where they are learning informally so I’ll have evidence of it.
    Autonomous learning… I know of children whose education has been entirely child led and they have gone on to college and university more than capable of fitting into that way of learning. In fact its been commented on that self motivated learning prepares them better for further and higher education than school does.
    Don’t know if any of that is helpful! LOL I’m still getting my head around this myself, but it would be great to have a partner in crime ; p on this journey! xxxx

  3. ooo good thank you !!, i have to say i stop and think omg what am i doing erm most days lol, ive found reading other blogs really helpful to especially for ideas, the thing that really worries me about “letting go” Is, what happens if they don’t want to know? don’t ask the questions? If they bombard me with questions that would be fantastic but what if they don’t? At the moment they really are happy just sitting watching tv, then we get a few oo can i draw? can i paint? i know they are young at the min, but i want them to have really inquisitive minds lol, bring on the “why” to everything! Im really looking forward to learning new things myself too, im coming out of my mommy brain and getting interested in learning myself again 🙂 have you seen our wall? i thought that would be a nice way of doing things but im not sure if they are taking to it, but i love the idea of printing things off so i have my own “evidence”, i have already made a level arch folder with this week, completed etc, so i can jot ideas down of things that we can do on the topics. which as i was planning to do lesson plans is quite a severe change around more like a note book for ideas, using nothing at all ….well maybe in the future 😉 i think we will carry on with the wall and minimal structure which is sooo hard as it is !! and if it doesn’t work for them i will seriously need to rethink, i was discussing this with my hubby while at the shop, and you know i really really cant imagine turning round to people as saying of my kids cant read at 7 or 8 when most others can, not only would i feel that id not done my “job” properly , id feel people would think HE is not as good , that i can’t teach them properly, isnt it awful to think that what other people think is so important!! if they were in school, it would be oh gosh the school has let them down, but when doing it yourself it taking everything on your own shoulders. xxx

    • I’ve found the questions come from anywhere and everywhere! Give them time. Kids get inspiration from everywhere, buds on the trees, spotting a snowdrop, finding a twig, watching me run a bath, seeing Mars (and being very disappointed that it was a tiny dot in the sky and not parked in the backyard!), getting out my bag of fabric scraps, making a mess and thinking of something to sew. The list is endless! With the reading, I read to my 2 all the time, even when they’re playing and it looks like I’m talking to myself! LOL but they take it all in and Niamh’s taught herself to read, though she is rather lazy with the bigger words (let it go, let it go! LOL) When they ask their questions and they will children have a natural inquisitiveness, the books and websites you’ll look at together will show them words and they’ll start to remember them.
      As for what people think… we eventually learn to grow a thick skin! Though you’ll meet some people who are very interested to learn about HE.
      Over the last year as we became more relaxed, actually due to a rather turbulent time constantly moving from one house to another, the children’s confidence has grown so much and I think that’s the key. Show them the world and what a beautiful place it can be and the rest will come naturally.
      I say, if your instincts tell you that this is the right way to go the chances are its the right thing. I think there’s always going to be that little nagging doubt for all of us, the way society’s set up we’re made to feel that what we are doing is very different to the norm and that’s scary! If your children are happy then you are doing your job. I don’t think I should ask much more from them about their outcomes except that they are happy.
      Wall – is that the Occupations one? Its great, in fact its inspired me for when the subject comes up in conversation again, Niamh decides she wants to be something different every week! LOL

  4. Erm, rather scarily – I could have written that. You put my thoughts and feelings into your posting, even down to the planning and organising.

    Thank you, it’s nice to know I’m not alone.

    Julia – fellow stationary lover.

    • Stationary is ace! I once got excited about a new notebook, it had page dividers in it!!!! I really need a life…. LOL
      We’re never alone on our journey through life there will always be people feeling the same way you do, and we cross each others paths for a reason.
      : D

  5. It sounds like your children have been having a wonderful time. We’re coming up on our one year unschooling anniversary, and life is so nice! My kids are 5 and almost 3.

    • Niamh’s almost 7 and Paddy’s nearly 5… even after a couple of days I’d soooo agree with you, life is so nice, the kids aren’t rebelling as much! I wish now that we’d started this earlier!

  6. Oooooooh! Its just occurred to me to say… do you think its because we’re mothers that we find it so hard to let go? My hubby’s as laid back about home ed as they come, so I’m thinking its a girl thing…
    I think there’s so much pressure put on mums as soon as their baby is born to ‘get it right’ and we just have to deal with the feelings of inadequacy when things don’t go by the book…. just a thought. : D

  7. My husband was not for unschooling let alone homeschooling in the beginning at all. He has come around quite a bit over the past six months.

  8. Ooo glad to see more in our boat 🙂 I agree with darcel, my hubby gets the homeschooling , but not unschooling, he understands that fact that they learn better if they are enjoying and want to find out about a subject, but the no planning etc he just thinks is me wanting to be lazy 😦 maybe we should start a blog ring?? How to loose control lol or something a lot more clever bit I can’t think at this time haha xxxx

Leave a comment